David Whitaker, Esq. Director Irvin Corley, Jr. Executive Policy Manager Marcell R. Todd, Jr. Director, City Planning Commission Janese Chapman Director, Historic Designation Advisory Board

John Alexander Roland Amarteifio Megha Bamola LaKisha Barclift, Esq. Nur Barre Paige Blessman M. Rory Bolger, Ph.D., FAICP Eric Fazzini, AICP Christopher Gulock, AICP

City of Detroit CITY COUNCIL

LEGISLATIVE POLICY DIVISION 208 Coleman A. Young Municipal Center Detroit, Michigan 48226 Phone: (313) 224-4946 Fax: (313) 224-4336

Derrick Headd Marcel Hurt, Esq. **Kimani Jeffrey Edward L. King Kelsey Maas** Jamie Murphy Kim Newby Analine Powers, Ph.D. Laurie Anne Sabatini **Rebecca Savage Ryan Schumaker** Sabrina Shockley **Renee Short Thomas Stephens**, Esq. **Timarie Szwed Dr. Sheryl Theriot Theresa Thomas** Ashley A. Wilson

TO:	Detroit City Council
-----	----------------------

FROM: David D. Whitaker, Esq Legislative Policy Division Staff

DATE: March 22, 2023

RE: Board of Zoning Appeals Membership

Council Member Mary Waters has made an inquiry about the feasibility of adding two additional members to the Board of Zoning Appeals. Based on our research, the Legislative Policy Division has determined that can be done.

According the Zoning Ordinance, "[t]he Board of Zoning Appeals shall be composed of not fewer than five or more than nine members who, in accordance with Section 601(1) of the Michigan Zoning Enabling Act, being MCL 125.3601(1), are appointed by a majority vote of City Council members serving". ¹ The addition of two members will bring the number of members on the board at nine which is squarely within the parameters of the ordinance. A resolution is required to make a change in the number of members.

Additionally, a budget allocation is necessary to fund the two additional stipends for the board members. This allocation can be addressed during your budget deliberations if this Body's desire to add the members for the upcoming fiscal year.

¹ Section 50-2-63