David Whitaker, Esq. Director Irvin Corley, Jr. Executive Policy Manager Marcell R. Todd, Jr. Director, City Planning Commission **Janese Chapman** Director, Historic Designation Advisory Board

John Alexander LaKisha Barclift, Esq. Paige Blessman M. Rory Bolger, Ph.D., FAICP Lisa DiChiera Eric Fazzini, AICP **Angela Gallegos** Willene Green **Christopher Gulock, AICP** Marcel Hurt, Esq.

City of Detroit CITY COUNCIL

LEGISLATIVE POLICY DIVISION

208 Coleman A. Young Municipal Center Detroit, Michigan 48226

Phone: (313) 224-4946 Fax: (313) 224-4336

Kimani Jeffrey Anthony W. L. Johnson Phillip Keller, Esq. **Edward King Kelsey Maas Jamie Murphy Dolores Perales** Analine Powers, Ph.D. W. Akilah Redmond Rebecca Savage Sabrina Shockley **Renee Short** Floyd Stanley Thomas Stephens, Esq. **Timarie Szwed** Theresa Thomas Ian Tomashik Ashley A. Wilson

TO: **Detroit City Council**

FROM: David Whitaker, Director

Legislative Policy Division Staff

DATE: November 25, 2024

RE: **Tenants' Rights Commission Appointments**

The Legislative Policy Division was requested to draft a ballot for the appointment of the voting members to the Tenants' Rights Commission. LPD's previous report detailing the membership and process for appointment has been attached to refresh your memory. Pursuant to the Tenants' Rights Ordinance, four (4) voting members shall be appointed by the City Council to two-year terms, two (2) of those members must be individuals who are actively renting residential property in Detroit.

Additionally, the ordinance requires membership be inclusive of members of the disability community, senior citizen community and the young adult community. LPD has identified, based on the information provided, whether a candidate represents any of these identified communities on the ballot.

¹ Section 12-12-3 (d). *Membership, Terms and Vacancy*. Detroit City Code